Top 10 Reads of 2015

Having posted the opposite end of the spectrum with my Top 5 Most Disappointing Reads of 2015, here were my favorite reads from this year. (NOTE: Not all books on this list were published in 2015.)

Half of these were also discussed, in detail, in my Top 5 Reads (So Far!) in 2015, and others have full reviews (or will soon have full reviews), so I won’t be talking about them in detail here.

2295574810. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.
Not a personal favorite, but easily one of the most important books I read this year. Here is my full review.

9. Giant Days, Vol. 1 by John Allison and Lissa Treiman.
This graphic novel was foisted upon me, but once I read it I understood. This book is meant to be read and shared and shared and shared.

8. Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch.
The sequel to Snow Like Ashes (full review here), a YA fantasy like none other I’ve read. I love the characters, the writing, the world, the angst, the everything. It all keeps getting better.

208216147. You by Caroline Kepnes.
A creeptastic read from the point of view of a stalker, addressed to “You”.

6. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.
A magical retelling of 1001 Nights with a slow-burning romance and high stakes storytelling.

5. Low, Vol. 1: The Delirium of Hope by Rick Remender and Greg Tocchini.
Though I’ve definitely discovered comic series I love more, Low is responsible for my newfound adventure into comics. Tocchini’s colors and illustrations opened my eyes, not only to the beautiful underwater scifi world of the series, but to how impressive comic books can be. 

4. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black.
I’ve always loved Holly Black, and though I have long outgrown vampire novels, she managed to drag me back into the world of blood and sex, eternal youth and death. Here is my full review.

A Darker Shade final for Irene3. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. (Victoria) Schwab.
A whirlwind adventure through parallel Londons, with magic and princes and cross-dressing pirates. 

2. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.
Rich storytelling, a whip-smart protagonist, court intrigue, rebellion. Don’t let the cheesy, romantic cover fool you, this book packs a hell of a punch with no happy endings in sight.

22544764

1. Uprooted by Naomi Novik.
I can’t form coherent sentences about this book. Perfect characters, perfect story, perfect “villain,” perfect beautiful fantasy tale– I’ve been waiting for this book my entire life.

What were your favorite reads of 2015? Give me some recommendations!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads


4 thoughts on “Top 10 Reads of 2015

Leave a comment