reading bigger books

I’m officially-enough the wielder of one Bachelor’s in English and another in International Studies, and if you think I have any idea what to use these quite expensive and frankly underwhelming pieces of paper for, you should lower your standards. i’m almost kidding ask me again in two weeks.

All I know is, I have a near limitless number of days to do whatever, who cares, nothing matters! So I’m going to make the most of my free time by, you guessed it, reading bigger books.

tumblr_n1xa9mvvnU1r3z3gbo1_500

I have amassed quite the collection of tomes over the past few years– in the flurry of attaining my undergraduate degree, anything over 500 pages was tossed aside for later because I didn’t have enough time. Well, now I have absolutely nothing but time, and those books are staring threateningly from the shelves, “Read us now or we will fall over on top of you.” Instead of doing a TBR challenge as are popular around the internet, I’ve compiled a short list of big books that I would like to read before the end of 2016…

  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon: Starting myself out with something “easy,” I read the first 60% of Outlander on my kindle in the first week of January. This is one series I never thought I would get into, but am quickly realizing how wrong I was. I also bought the second book,  A Dragonfly in Amber, in case of emergencies (like I run out of pages to read in Outlander).
  • A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin: I started this book as well and got about 200 pages into it before my neglected schoolwork caught up to me. Thankfully, I have seen the TV show and have a pretty longterm memory when it comes to books I’ve stopped halfway into, so I should be fine picking this one up where I left off.
  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami: About a year ago everyone and their dog was reading Murakami. I’d picked this up at the library, read (and loved) the first 40 pages, and promptly lost it. I didn’t find it again until I’d racked up $15 in late fees, and then spent another $15 buying my own copy.
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas: I really wanted to read this when it came out a few months ago, but it’s so large. Every book SJMaas writes gets bigger and bigger sometimes needlessly but i digress. Nevertheless, I’m going to read this before the as-yet-untitled fifth book is published this fall.
  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld: I buy everything Westerfeld writes either the day it’s published, or weeks-to-months prior. I’ve been a huge fan of his writing my whole life. So why haven’t I read Afterworlds yet?! It’s a damn shame.
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon: My boyfriend has been reading this and is dying to talk about it with me. It’s been sitting on my shelf for two years, and I own a signed hardcover edition of the second book. Every time I look at them I feel a stab of shame and regret at not having read them by now.

Which big, chunky books do you think I should pick up? Chat with me in the comments!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

6 thoughts on “reading bigger books

  1. I’m currently in the middle of a 900 page book and, while it’s good, it takes so. long. to finish! So I’ve been distracted by other, quicker books to read as well . .
    The only one of these I’ve read so far is Afterworlds, and it’s a pretty quick read in spite of its bulk!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eeee congratulations! Five years later, I haven’t the slightest clue what my degree actually did for me, besides open up a world of knowledge and questions and ways to start looking for answers. People still ask me if I’m using my degree, and the answer is both no and yes.

    Let me know how Outlander goes. I’ve always been scared off by the size, but if it’s unputdownable, I’ll read it.

    Like

  3. Neal Stephenson’s ‘Baroque Cycle’ – Quicksilver, The Confusion and The System of the World – three big books which are science fiction history novels. They are absolutely breathtaking.
    Also, Peter F Hamilton’s Night’s Dawn trilogy – The Reality Dysfunction, The Neutronium Alchemist and The Naked God. I had to read these three books in six weeks for an author event when he was coming to the bookshop at which I worked. Really cool space opera with zombies! (Before zombies got totally played out)

    Like

Leave a Reply

