Comic Books, Issue #9 | January Reads

This month I read too many stellar comics, so many I couldn’t cut it down to just one best series… so I refuse.

seriesspotbanner

jan1

Giant Days by John Allison, Whitney Cogar, and Lissa Treiman

Jan4I talked about Giant Days, Vol. 1, briefly in my Top 10 Reads of 2015 list. This series follows three roommates– Susan, Daisy, and Esther– during their first year of University, and all of their (mis)adventures. It’s bright and colorful, with adorable and painfully relatable characters, and tackles topics like sexism, social and economic inequality, sex/sexuality, relationships, and friendship with zeal and good humor.

Each character in this series is so distinct, from sweet homeschooled Daisy to drama-prone Esther to cynical hipster-type Susan. And the guys are pretty great, too, from nice guy (not “Nice Guy”) Ed to McGraw, who’s similar to Ron Swanson from Parks & Rec in that he’s equal parts traditionally masculine and surprisingly sensitive (with similar facial hair). I think my favorite thing about this new story arc was the introduction of a new character, Big Lindsey. I can’t talk much about her character for fear of spoiling, but I will say I’m hoping she comes back in later issues.

jan2

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! by Kate Leth and Brittney Williams

jan3_2Marvel has been killing it these days with Ms. MarvelDoctor Strange, and Thor, winning over even my DC-lovin’ heart. Hellcat is no exception! I already knew I loved Kate Leth from her Power Up! miniseries, an all-ages comic about pretty nontraditional superheroes. Hellcat is an all-ages series as well– its particular brand of humor is perfect for both children and adults.

I knew next to nothing about Patsy Walker going into this series, and Leth found the perfect balance between providing enough of her backstory to understand her character and leaving an air of mystery, as well as taking off in a new direction that will interest both new fans and old.

This is another bright, colorful comic, with characters to match. If you’re looking for the Netflix Jessica Jones character Trish Walker (same character, different iteration) with the same dark, twisted vibe as the show, you won’t find that here. But I still recommend you give this series a try. It’s a ton of fun and I don’t think anyone could be disappointed.

jan5

January’s other favorites are pretty consistent with last month’s. Here’s why I loved each of them, in a nutshell:

  • The budding and struggling relationship between characters, and the overall strange fantasy world of The Spire #5 by Simon Spurrier, Jeff Stokely, and Andre May.
  • The many Loki’s of The Mighty Thor #3 by Jason Aaron, Russell Dauterman, and Matt Wilson.
  • Our ridiculous antihero and all her plotting and scheming in I Hate Fairyland #4 by Skottie Young and Jean-Francois Beaulieu. (I’ve been loving these variants, but I’m almost sorry for the language.)
  • The kickass girl-power in Ms. Marvel #3 by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa, and Ian Herring.

Jan6

While I didn’t dislike these, my “likes” this month also weren’t too impressive…

  • Welcome Back #3 by Christopher Sebela, Claire Roe, and Carlos Nicolas Zamudio.
  • No Mercy #6 by Alex de Campi, Carla Speed McNeil, and Jenn Manley Lee.
  • Phonogram: The Immaterial Girl #6 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles.

Jan7

And the stragglers of this month’s bunch…

  • Mulan: Revelations #4 by Robert Alter, Marc Andreyko, and Micah Kaneshiro. (What started off as a great series has quickly gone downhill. Interest lost entirely.)
  • Phonogram: The Immaterial Girl #5 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles. (Obviously the sixth issue got better, but it was a mistake reading The Immaterial Girl having never read Rue Britannia or The Singles Club. I was lost and confused this whole series. I have since purchased both and will be doing a Phonogram re-read ASAP.)

I could have read a few more this month, but I’m pretty happy with what I’ve featured in this post. Overall, my reads were very polarizing, falling into “excellent” or “meh” with little to no in-between. Let me know what series you think I should be following, or what you thought of any of these if you have read them, in the comments!

alecksis

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

Leave a Reply

