Wrappin’ Up January + 2016 Reading Goals | Bookish

novels:

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (5 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Recommendability: ●●●●●

graphic novels:

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh (3.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●○○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Art Style: ●●●●○
Recommendability: ●●○○○

Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch (5 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Art Style: ●●●●●
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far-Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch, and Stjepan Šejić (4 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Art Style: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

My reading goal for this year is 52 books. I set the bar really low for myself because I plan on really focusing on reading bigger books, as well as several graphic novels and many, many, many comics. On top of this, I also really want to focus on #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks, which is exactly what it sounds like. I also have several challenges specifically catered to make me pick up books that have been sitting on my shelf for a long time:

  • a book I DNF’d
  • a book I bought to read “someday”
  • a book my boyfriend has been begging me to read
  • a book I put off because of the hype
  • a book I put off to read something that was more hyped
  • a book I own 2+ copies of
  • a book I received as a gift
  • finish a series
  • an anthology of short stories
  • a book I’ve been putting off for the right “mood”
  • a book I don’t remember what it’s about but the cover is pretty
  • a “blind date” book

For the final challenge, I plan on gift-wrapping a selection of my TBR pile and picking one at random. I’ll probably do this for several other challenges just to make my TBR pile more exciting.

I’ve been in a weird reading slump for the past few months, but that’s pretty typical end/beginning of the year reading blues when I haven’t hit my reading goals and have to set new ones.

What are your reading goals for this year? How are you doing so far? Leave me a comment!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

5 thoughts on “Wrappin’ Up January + 2016 Reading Goals | Bookish

  1. I like the idea of defining your reading goals. I usually just read as much as I can, which is often not nearly as much as I’d want to, because life, and then pick something that seems right for my mood at the time. Maybe I should try that goal thing, but then again I’m really bad at sticking to plans. Sometimes I even put the book I prepared (i.e. put on top of the pile) back because it just does not feel right and fish out something completely different.
    Anyway, I PLAN to finish the collection of short stories by Borges, which I put away somewhere after story two or three, and on starting Wheel of Time again so I can finish it, this time including the last books by Sanderson. I’d also like to finish the complete Poe and the two books on writing by Le Guin and Bradbury I just bought two weeks ago. And probably a few of the comics and graphic novels I have neglected so shamefully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to be really vague with my own goals so I still have plenty of options. I struggle with being told what to do, even if I’m the one telling myself to do it! I really want to get into Ursula Le Guin but just haven’t picked up any of her books yet.

      Like

      1. Exactly! Maybe I should copy you in this. 🙂
        I really liked the Earthsea saga – it was an easy, fun read and might be a good first Le Guin. So far, I’ve read Left Hand of Darkness, The Dispossessed and Forest is the Word for World, which sometimes require a lot more attention and thinking, so maybe not the best read for public transport or other noisy places. If you ever get to read something by her, let me know what you think – I don’t know anybody who reads Le Guin.

        Like

      2. I’ve been recommended Earthsea and Left Hand of Darkness so I will probably pick one of those up first. I will let you know when I get around to it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

