Winter Biannual Bibliothon 2016, Day 1 | The BiBib Tag

This week (January 3 – 9) is the week of the Winter Biannual Bibliothon, hosted by seven lovely ladies on BookTube. This readathon consists of seven reading challenges and seven video challenges.

I absolutely love participating in this bibliothon not only because the hosts are fantastic, but also because in many readathons I feel that there is an overemphasis on reading as many books as possible (which is a one stop trip to slump central for me), and the BiBib is more focused on having fun, doing a lot of reading, and maybe picking up one or two bigger books, plus the group book, while still completing all the challenges during the week. Obviously you can read seven books for seven challenges, but that kind of readathon strategy just never works out for me.

Obviously I’m publishing this a day late, but since I am still dealing with a computer that refuses to run video editing software, I’ve decided to do some of the “video” challenges in blog form. It’s an adventure! We’ll see how well this goes!

Yesterday’s challenge was to do the Biannual Bibliothon tag. I was actually tagged by MissSassyKassie (or [at]MissSassyKassie on Twitter).

  1. Did you participate in one of the last Bibliothons?
    I’ve participated in the reading half of every Biannual Bibliothon, as far as I can remember. If I didn’t participate in the first one, I did for some reason spend a lot of time watching all of the videos from everyone who did participate. I haven’t done the video half of the BiBib because it always seems to fall on a particularly busy time of the year.
  2. What was your favorite part of last Bibliothon?
    Last time I spent most of my Bibliothon tracking my progress on Instagram. It was the first time I really got into the bookstagram/instabooks (whatever) side of things and I ended up with some fun pictures of some really pretty books. I’ve never been a photographer, so these were the first pictures I actually felt proud of (usually my IG feed is just selfie after selfie after selfie after…)
    wpid-img_20150626_083245.jpg
  3. What are you most excited about for this Bibliothon?
    I really love watching everyone’s challenge videos and discovering new BookTubers. Even though I don’t participate in that side of the readathon, it’s one of my favorite things about this week. Book lovers are just so creative!
  4. Give us a hint for your favorite upcoming challenge video!
    I’m really excited to see what everyone comes up with for the BookTube’s Got Talent challenge. Sometimes it feels a little taboo to post non-bookish things on a BookTube channel, so it’ll be really cool to see what other talents and hobbies people have that they don’t usually get to discuss.
  5. What book are you most excited to read this week?
    Truthwitch by Susan Dennard! I found it at my local Barnes & Noble early– I did a double take mid-sentence and screamed in the middle of the bookstore. It was one of my most anticipated new releases of this year; I feel like I’ve been waiting my whole life for this book! Here’s hoping it lives up to expectations!
  6. What was your favorite & least favorite reading challenge of the past Bibliothons?
    My least favorite challenge of every readathon is “Read X number of books.” It always feels like failure is inevitable. I think my favorite challenge is the opposite– “Read a book over 300 pages.” I usually avoid big books, so if I just finish this challenge I will feel like I really accomplished something this readathon. (I know it’s not a past-BiBib challenge so I’m kind of cheating.)
  7. What was your favorite & least favorite video challenge of the past Bibliothons?
    I really loved seeing people recreate book covers. Every video was so creative! I think my least favorite is always the DIY challenge, not because I hate DIY videos, I just only watch them when I actually want to learn how to make the thing for myself. They’re the only videos I find myself passing over consistently during readathons.
  8. 45 seconds TBR in alphabetical order – NO CHEATING!
    Battle Royale
    Child Thief
    Soundless
    Truthwitch
    I haven’t decided on my re-read, but it will probably be The Winner’s Curse, so I think I win? (Just kidding, I messed up like three times.)
  9. What is one suggestion you’d have for the next Biannual Bibliothon?
    Allow blog entries as a substitute for video challenges? Just kidding (but really, ladies, I’m not kidding, let’s bring this Bibliothon to the blogosphere.)
  10. Who do you tag? JOIN THE BIANNUAL BIBLIOTHON!
    Everyone who is participating in the Biannual Bibliothon has already filmed and submitted this tag video, so here is the information for the Biannual Bibliothon: YouTube | Twitter | Reading Challenge video | Video Challenge video | biannualbibliothon@gmail.com
    And your hosts… emmmabooks | MissSassyKassie | sierrareads | Brittni’s Book Find | Kellys BookSpill | OHxXxSnap13 (Selena) | Little Red Reader

As a day 1 reading update, I only managed to read the first 3 chapters of Truthwitch (about 40 pages). I was playing Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate with my boyfriend all day… it’s kind of taken over my life. Here’s to six more days of (hopefully) reading!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

4 thoughts on “Winter Biannual Bibliothon 2016, Day 1 | The BiBib Tag

Leave a Reply

