Bookish | Most Anticipated of 2016 (Favorite Authors Edition)

It’s the end of the year (holy what!) and I’ve been curbing my book buying to a near dead-halt. I’ve pretty much had my fill of 2015 releases, though there are still a few floating around out there that I’ve kept on my wish list.

This next year is going to be incredible for releases– I have upwards of 40 that I feel a mighty need to possess. However, since there are so many, I’ve decided to split my most anticipated releases into two, maybe three different categories so I can highlight the few that I truly believe I would die without.

Up first, some of my favorite auto-buy authors.

23308084

  1. The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (pub. May 3, 2016)–
    I absolutely fell in love with The Wrath & the Dawn, which came out earlier in 2015. Everything about the book design, its vibrant color, and its alluring premise (a fantasy retelling of 1001 Nights) just called to me, and I was delighted to find that the book surpassed all my expectations. So it’s no small wonder that not only did Renee Ahdieh make my immediate auto-buy author list, but The Rose & the Dagger is one 2016 release that makes me squeal audibly whenever I think of it.20443235
  2. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski (pub. March 29, 2016)–
    I’m well aware of the cover change fiasco, and I’ve decided the new covers don’t exist. Nope. Never.
    But unnecessary (and, frankly, atrocious) cover changes are not something you should ever hold against the author, particularly not my queen of 2015, Marie Rutkoski. I read the first book, The Winner’s Curse, in January and it nearly killed me to wait for The Winner’s Crime in March. This is another beautiful fantasy series with a whole lot of court intrigue and one clever character after another. Kestrel is such an interesting main character who proves time and time again you don’t have to be a fist-fighter to be a total badass. I can’t wait to see how her story ends (hopefully with that titular Kiss.)
  3. A Gathering of Shadows (pub. February 23, 2016) and This Savage Song (pub. June 7, 2016) by V.E. (Victoria) Schwab–
    I read Vicious in 2014, A Darker Shade of Magic in 2015, and now you’re telling me V.E. Schwab has two new releases out in 2016?! Be still, my heart.
    A Gathering of Shadows is the sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic, an adult fantasy series crossing between multiple parallel Londons with crotchety magic wielders, cross-dressing pirates, and bisexual princes. I can’t even think about A Gathering of Shadows without descending into a deep sadness that it’s still not in my hands.
    This Savage Song is the first book to Schwab’s new Monsters of Verity young adult series about monsters, music, friendship, and adventure. Everything this woman writes is a dream and these two are guaranteed to be at the top of my favorites list in 2016.25494343
  4. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (pub. March 8, 2016)–
    Show me one person who isn’t thrilled to finally read Cassandra Clare’s new The Dark Artifices and I will show you a liar. I’ve been reading Shadowhunters books since City of Ashes, the second book in The Mortal Instruments series was published, and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. This new series in particular looks like it’s going to deal a lot more with the Fair Folk, and who doesn’t love scary fairies? (Answer: A lot of people. I’m kind of the only one who loves scary fairies.) In the meantime, the new tv show on ABC Freeform, Shadowhunters, is premiering in January, so I’ll have enough to tide me over until this March release.25816519
  5. Seven Black Diamonds by Melissa Marr (pub. March 1, 2016)–
    If you still have not read Melissa Marr’s other faery series, Wicked Lovely, what are you doing here? Go, right now. I’ll wait.
    Seven Black Diamonds is what I’m considering Melissa Marr’s triumphant return to the realm of the fae, after a somewhat disastrous foray into YA thriller (Made for You) and some adult urban fantasy types which never really gripped me, but I still keep on my shelf. It’s okay, Melissa Marr, I forgive you because now you’re back where you belong.
    This new series has to do with criminal behavior, inter-species war, faery sleeper cells, and my faith in Marr being tentatively restored.

So there you have some of the 2016 releases from my favorite authors. I didn’t include books like Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch or Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor and several others, mostly because they don’t have covers yet. Expect another one of these most-anticipated for the back half of the year so I can gush some more.

If you want to see my full Goodreads shelf of anticipated releases of 2016, click here!

What are you most looking forward to in 2016? Chat with me in the comments!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

One thought on “Bookish | Most Anticipated of 2016 (Favorite Authors Edition)

Leave a Reply

