Bookish | Wrappin’ Up November

November was a pretty decent reading month! Which is especially surprising since I also participated in National Novel Writing Month, uploaded impromptu vlogs on my Rocket Reads channel, while going to school and working my normal schedule. I actually don’t know where I found the time to do all of this. I’ll have to check my pockets later to see if there is any left over (badum tiss).

novels:

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence (3.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●○○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●○○

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer (2 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●○○○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●○○

Anne & Henry by Dawn Ius (3.5 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●○○

Machine Man by Max Barry (3 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Recommendability: ●●●○○

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (1.5 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●○○○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Recommendability: ●●○○○

graphic novels:

Sex Criminals, Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarksy (3.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment:●●●○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Art Quality: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●○

Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (3.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment:●●●○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Art Quality: ●●●●●
Recommendability:●●●●○

Giant Days, Vol. 1 by John Allison & Lissa Treiman (5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment:●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Art Quality: ●●●●○
Recommendability:●●●●●

As you can see, I only rated one book at 5 stars on Goodreads. I had pretty positive feelings about most of these, but for the most part found much of what I was reading deeply flawed in some sense or another. I also read a helluva lot of single issue comics– I promise to bring back another Comic Books post in the month of December. Because wow, do we have a lot to catch up on.

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

Leave a Reply

