Bookish | Wrappin’ Up September

Geez, it’s October already?! I feel like I just wrote last month’s wrap up! (and, in fact, I did, not four blog posts ago.) Every month gets a little harder to read, but I feel like for the upcoming month I’m going to get over that by sheer power of will.

So, let’s get into this past month’s worth of reading!

novels:

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa (4 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (4.5 stars)*
Personal Enjoyment: ●○○○○
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Recommendability: ●●●○○

graphic novels:

The Wicked + the Divine, Vol. 2: Fandemonium by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles (5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Art Quality: ●●●●●
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Rachel Rising by Terry Moore (5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●●
Art Quality: ●●●●●
Recommendability: ●●●●○

I’m up to 42 of my goal of 65 books on my Goodreads challenge! I hope to get caught up over the next few months, especially with the number of holidays and breaks from school. If you have any recommendations for what I should try to read before the year is out, feel free to comment!

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads


So, you’re probably wondering what is up with that rating for Speak, right? I don’t plan on writing a full review, because I did not actually read every last word of this novel– at times I had to skip whole pages just to get through it. It’s a very emotional, very triggering read for survivors of rape and sexual abuse, and it was all I could do to get to the end. Nevertheless, I believe it’s also a very important and accurate book and I would encourage everyone to check it out for themselves.

Leave a Reply

