Bookish | DNF Reads I Need to Push Through

This may be an unpopular opinion, but if I start reading something that everyone else loves, but I just think is so bad, I have to see it through to the end. I am no stranger to DNF’ing books that maybe I’ve heard nothing about, or I’ve only heard bad reviews, but for books and series that everyone else seems to love, I will force myself to finish. My reasoning is, if someone confronts me and asks why I didn’t like a book, I want to be able to back up my hatred of said book for pages and pages.

I also just really like being angry.

So here are some books I just need to slog through so I can hate them properly.

162783181. Armada by Ernest Cline

Listen, I read Ready Player One, and for the most part, I enjoyed it. I understood the majority of the references, I was on board for most of the story. But that book is deeply flawed, and for the most part I do not understand why people love it as much as they do.

Armada is an entirely different story. From the very first few chapters, I was just so bored. I had so many issues with the way characters were introduced, and was overall very turned off by this. But the more relatively-okay to good reviews I see, the more positively I start to feel about this book. And if I don’t finish it, I will definitely forget that I don’t like this book at all.

160968242. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I don’t feel alone in this one. I’ve seen as many reviews pointing out how terrible and problematic this story is as I have reviews about how beautiful and amazing it turned out to be. But, I mean… I hated Throne of Glass the first time I read it, too… so, what if this is like that, and the next book is incredible and then I feel bad for ever doubting the majestic unicorn that is Sarah J. Maas?

172346583. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

For some reason, this beautiful cover tricked me into thinking I enjoyed Claudia Gray’s other books in high school, when, in fact, I don’t remember one bit about them, and my Goodreads reviews for those books are all 1-3 stars. But it’s so pretty. I want to love it so I can get the whole series and show them off on my shelf, instead of trying to hide it behind other books because it makes me sad to see it on my shelf, no matter how pretty it is on the outside.

207594984. Compulsion by Martina Boone

This book sounds great. I’m serious, it sounds wonderful. I don’t even have a problem with a lot of the writing. I’ve heard great things about this book, and the author is just a nice human. But after very little deliberation, I totally traded this book away for another. What turned me off while I was first trying to get into this book is that the main character suffers from “Bella Swan syndrome”. She’s just not a particularly interesting or attractive person, but literally everyone flocks to her and wants to be her friend for absolutely no reason. Maybe I’ll end up liking this. Probably not. I still should finish it.

173839185. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I hate this series. I repeat: I HATE THIS SERIES.

But… I keep coming back to it. I hated all of Divergent. I hated every second of Insurgent. I will probably hate Allegiant. I think Veronica Roth is a talented writer who created an incredibly annoying, illogical, frustrating main character whose head I hate being inside of. Save me from this series, for the love of all that is bookish. I’ll probably pick it up again within the month. I’ll hate it and then it will be over. That’s the whole point.

125780776. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I have a whole video review on why I did not finish this book. I should probably re-watch and listen to my own words because for some insane reason, every single time one of my friends starts this book, I feel the need to dive back into it. It’s awful how often I consider picking this series back up for another chance. But, I did get a good two-thirds of the way through the first book the first time around, why not finish so I can just never have these horrifying thoughts again.

Life is apparently never too short to finish books you hate.

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

Leave a Reply

