Bookish | Wrappin’ Up July

After such a great reading month in June, it’s almost to be expected that I wouldn’t even come close in July. But that’s great, because with such a small sample size, I can easily try out my new rating system, which I’ve really been liking in my full reviews, in wrap-up form!

One important thing to remember: “art quality” does not refer to how pretty I thought the art was, but more how it aided or impeded my understanding of the story.

novels

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega (3.5 stars; full review)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●○○○
Recommendability: ●●○○○

The Dead House (ARC)* by Dawn Kurtagich (4 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Recommendability: ●●●●○

audiobook

The Young Elites by Marie Lu (2.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●○○○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●○○○

graphic novels

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson (4.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●●
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Art Quality: 
●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Wytches, Vol. 1 by Scott Snyder (4 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●●○
Art Quality: 
●●○○○
Recommendability: ●●●●○

Amazing Spider-Man: Edge of Spider-Verse by David Hine** (2.5 stars)

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen (3.5 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Art Quality: 
●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson (3 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●○○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Art Quality: 
●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson (4 stars)
Personal Enjoyment: ●●●●○
Writing Quality: ●●●○○
Art Quality:
●●●○○
Recommendability: ●●●●●

What was your favorite thing you read in July?

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads


* I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

** Amazing Spider-Man: Edge of Spider-Verse is a collection of 5 single-issue stories. I cannot review it more accurately as a single work than the 2.5 star cumulative Goodreads review.

One thought on “Bookish | Wrappin’ Up July

  1. What did I read last month? I finished a book on Medieval Housewives. I enjoyed reading about the lives of women in medieval times. I learned that women were typically the ones who were brewers. I also listened to the full version of Sarah’s Key on tape while driving. Although predictable, it was riveting. The author tried to conceal some obvious outcomes by calling the main character “the girl” but it didn’t work for me. I knew who she was and wish the author would have identified her from the beginning. The story, nevertheless, was so powerful we kept driving so we could keep listening. It was 2:30AM before we stopped and we still had one CD left to go.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

