Let’s Talk | Currently Reading

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

What is my life right now?

I’ve been asking myself this question every time I sit down to read and simply cannot get past ten or so pages unless there are pictures. Out of my past ten reads on my Goodreads Challenge, six have been graphic novels, two were manga, and only two were novels… one novel was actually a children’s book with pictures.

I mean, I’m still reading. I haven’t tallied the number of single issue comic books I’ve been marathoning, but the number is soaring into the ridiculous. Contrary to this front I’ve constructed with this still-new blog, this is not typical of my reading habits.

So what am I doing?

I don’t know. Let’s just talk about some books I picked up recently, and why, and some books I put down, and why.

18044277This is the book that’s been on my Currently Reading shelf on Goodreads for a while. Usually after a point, I will take the books I haven’t picked up in so long and put them back on my TBR shelf, or, alternately, on my Abandoned shelf. I think I just like looking at this book so I like to keep it around. I also think if I took it off Currently Reading, I’d just forget I owned this.

So this book is obviously The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma. It’s a young adult psychological thriller with a paranormal aspect that I must have been spoiled for because it just seemed so obvious to me going into it. I thought I wasn’t enjoying this book until I realized something about the writing style was beautifully claustrophobic and was actually making me hyperventilate. That was an interesting experience.

Then halfway through I put it down because I found something else to read, and I haven’t picked it back up. My feelings are generally positive, but I don’t know when I will ever get back around to picking this up. I keep saying soon. So, soon!

16096824Next I have a book that is pretty quickly becoming the bane of my existence. That’s why it’s small in this post. Because I am the master here. It’s A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, a “new adult” erotica fantasy novel by the author of the Throne of Glass series. This was one of my most anticipated releases of this year. I picked it up immediately. But the second I cracked this open, I knew something was off.

It was just so… boring. Everyone was loving it, though, so I kept reading, and I kept putting it down. I got to the point where I could read ten pages, set it down to do something else, and then somehow I still could convince myself that it was worth picking up again? I don’t know. I thought I would like it if I just willed myself to like it.

Well, I don’t like it. It’s just not-good. For a fantasy, it’s underdeveloped. For erotica, it’s just plain boring (and, I’ve heard, fairly problematic.) I am planning a DNF review, but at the same time, I’m still holding out to try to finish it because I feel like I need the entire experience in order to hate it properly.

10194157I picked up the entire Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, starting with Smoke and Bone, all at once, determined to like it. I did forget I already owned the first two books on Kindle. And, okay, I am not disliking this one. It actually has a really strong introduction in the prologue that really drew me in and made me think yes, this was a good choice. Unfortunately, I began to get a little lost somewhere in the next hundred pages. I wasn’t quite on the same wavelength as the main character. I felt like instead of reading the story in front of me, I was identifying different YA tropes. It’s not that this book is turning out badly, it’s just not quite above the “average-YA” threshold. Those things, combined with untranslated (and apparently, according to native speakers, often incorrectly used) Russian words, made me re-shelve this book for later.

20643052Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine was just published on July 7, 2015. It’s not in any way related to Shadow and Bone. This is the first book to a young adult, alternate history, dystopian, fantasy series by the author of The Morganville Vampires series. I loved the first half of Morganville Vampires, which was a 15-book series, and of those, I read at least nine. I want so badly to love this, which is why I read the first chapter and put it down. This book deserves my full attention, which I am just not able to give right now.

Sighhhhh. I want to love you…

20308537This is my most recent endeavor. The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough, a historical romance with a magical twist. Is that magical realism? What is magical realism?

Basically, this book follows two people from very different backgrounds who are predestined to fall in love in a pre-World War II setting. Love and Death are actual personified characters who play a great game with star-crossed lovers every so often, a game that Death has always won in the end.

This book is very lovely and slow and metaphorical, though not nearly as metaphorical as I initially anticipated. I assumed going into it that Love and Death were just metaphorical players in this game, and it was all just an extended analogy for how love conquers all. No, they’re literal players. That was a nice surprise.

Luckily for me, this book seems perfect for slow consumption. It’s written a lot like The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which I also picked up during a reading slump, but that’s a very high bar to set.

What are you reading? How do you deal with reading slumps? I usually just try to power through, and it’s a very painful way of reading. How are you today?

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

Leave a Reply

