Bookish | Wrappin’ Up June

June was such a stellar reading month. I felt completely rejuvenated and the books I was picking up felt compelling enough to read in, at most, a handful of sittings. Towards the end of the month I also participated in a readathon, the Biannual Bibliothon, hosted by some very lovely ladies in the BookTube community: emmmabooks, MissSassyKassie, sierrareads, Little Red Reader, Brittni’s Book Find, Kelly’s Bookspill, and OHxXxSnap13. So after the first five months of reading one to four books every month, June felt like a breath of fresh air.

I recently decided to stop filming my wrap-ups to upload to my YouTube channel, and instead am just going to summarize my reading for you here. These wrap-up posts are just to give you an idea of what and how much I read during the month. Since my other blog posts are rather verbose, I’m going to keep these short and sweet with the title and author, my rating out of 100, a link to my Goodreads review, and a link to any other places I may have reviewed or discussed that book in particular.

novels

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: 65/100. I also have a full discussion on my channel (WARNING: character spoilers; little-to-no plot spoilers).

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: 95/100. I also mentioned this book in my Top 5 Reads (So Far!) in 2015.

Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier: 70/100.

You by Caroline Kepnes: 95/100. I also mentioned this book in my Top 5 Reads (So Far!) in 2015.

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: 80/100.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley: 40/100.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman (illustrated by Chris Riddell): 80/100.

manga

Bleach, Vol. 2 by Tite Kubo: 90/100.

Bleach, Vol. 3 by Tite Kubo: 100/100.

graphic novels

Low, Vol. 1: The Delirium of Hope by Rick Remender & Greg Tocchini: 100/100.

For this first half of the year, I read 25 books (20 novels, 4 manga, 1 graphic novel). My original Goodreads challenge was 75 books, but after a few months of consistently reading 1-3 novels apiece I reduced it to 65. I’m still behind, but at least I feel like I have it enough under control, while still making it an actual challenge for myself.

Something I found interesting/disappointing was the number of popular recently published novels that just didn’t hit the mark for me. What was your best and/or worst read this past month?

alecksis.

twitter | instagram | youtube | goodreads

One thought on “Bookish | Wrappin’ Up June

  1. Nice wrap up! I like how short you keep it, it makes it interesting! I also read An Abundance Of Katherines some months ago and absolutely fell in love with it! Manga’s and graphic novels/trades really help with keeping up the reading challenge on goodreads 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

